New Student Representatives to School Committee

L to R: Grace Davie, Isabella Farrington, Juliana Levesque

The Sanford School Committee is pleased to announce that Grace Davie and Isabella Farrington were named Sanford School Committee Student Representatives at a meeting held on November 16, 2020. Grace and Isabella will join Student Representative Juliana Levesque, Class of 2021 on the Committee at the next regular School Committee meeting scheduled for December 7, 2020. Grace is a member of the Class of 2022 at Sanford High School as well as a student in the Electrical Wiring Program at SRTC.  In her application for this position, Grace notes, “I think it is the responsibility of students to give feedback to decision makers, working collaboratively to make our school system the best that it can be”.   

Isabella is also a member of the Class of 2022 at Sanford High School where she has participated in the Treble Choir, Field Hockey, Drama/Theater, Gifted/Talented, Peer Helpers and the National Society of High School Scholars.  “Bella” states, “I would really like to have a greater presence in my high school and my community.  Joining the School Committee is the perfect opportunity for me to achieve this.”

Superintendent Matt Nelson thanks Assistant Superintendent Steve Bussiere and Sanford High School Assistant Principal Troy Watts for their efforts to replace former Student Representatives Harrielle Bernard and Natalie St. Onge who graduated in June. He stated, “We are very pleased to have Grace and Isabella join Juliana on the Committee.  I look forward to working with this remarkable group of young women.”