Sanford Springvale News

Copyright © 2024 – Sanford Springvale News – All rights reserved.

by Springvale Library Staff

The Book Sale Was a HUGE Success! ​Thank you, thank you, thank you all for supporting one of the our largest fundraisers of the year. As a non-profit, we rely on these fundraisers to keep bringing amazing books, youth activities, and programming for everyone to our community. ​Thank you to our volunteers, too. Without them, this event could not happen!

Programs and Events

Summer Concert Series continues on Fridays 12-1 with Colleen Raney & Hank Araki on the 1st, and Tom Osborne on October 8th.  Bring your lunch and enjoy an hour of music! Huge thank you to the Chamber of Commerce for working with us on this fabulous program!

TAG – Teen After School Program:

  • Sept. 29 – Black and White Dandelion Painting
  • Oct. 6- Group Escape Room Challenge
  • Oct. 13 – On-Demand Craft Hour
  • Oct. 20 – Spooky Pumpkin Luminaries
  • Oct. 27 – Halloween Candy Crafts

Outside Story Time with Sheila – Friday’s at 10:00

The Library is one of the Kids Free to Grow disposable diaper drive collection sites. Kids Can Grow will be distributing the diapers to pantries this fall. Drop off a package of diapers today!

Knit Lits is every Tuesday from 3:00 – 4:30.  All fiber artists are welcome!

Craft of the month kits for adults are available to pick up beginning October 1st

New Books

  • Non-Fiction: The Secret Ingredient Cookbook: 125 Family-Friendly Recipes with Surprisingly Tasty Twists by Kelly Senyei. What a fun cookbook!  Our cooking group had a great time learning the ‘secret ingredient’ in each prepared dish.  This cookbook has some great recipes that are sure to become favorites!  Keep an open mind as you try turkey burgers with secret ingredients creamed corn,  ginger ale in homemade waffles, and orange soda in sheet pan barbecue meatballs!  ~Dawn Brown
  • Fiction: Hadley and Grace by Suzanne Redfearn. The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise. Needing to escape her abusive marriage, Hadley flees with her two kids, knowing it might be her only chance. A woman who can’t even kill a spider, Hadley soon finds herself pushed to the limits as she fights to protect her family. Grace, new mother of baby Miles, desperately wants to put her rough past behind her for good, but she finds it impossible when her path crosses with Hadley’s, and her quest for a new start quickly spirals out of control and turns into a terrifying fight for survival. ~Amazon
  • Young Adult: Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses by Kristen O’Neal. Is being a werewolf considered a chronic illness? Priya, who has Lyme disease and has had to drop out of Stanford and finds support when she is not in pain or brain fog on discord in a group called “Oof, My Bones.” Everyone in the group is open about their variety of diagnoses, except for Brigid, Priya’s online BFF. When Brigid seems to disappear from all communications, Priya must pull herself together and go check on her friend. Surprises await when Priya finally meets Brigid and finds her in werewolf form.  Together they try to solve why Brigid is turning more frequently. This is a humorous and heartfelt read.
  • Children: I’m Trying to Love Rocks by Bethany Barton. What is “so rock-like” and “doesn’t move” and doesn’t do anything after giving it a poke? A rock of course! You think that might be all, but WAIT, there is so much more about geology. Let the rock club president, a young girl who knows a lot about geology, explain fun facts about volcanoes, diamonds, fossils, and rocks! This book will entice even readers who aren’t interested in rocks with it zany illustrations and snappy dialogue.  Even the rocks in your backyard can become time machines!
Copyright © 2024 - Sanford Springvale News - All rights reserved. | CoverNews by AF themes.