Sanford Springvale News Banner

Copyright © 2024 – Sanford Springvale News – All rights reserved.

Library Corner: New Books, Smitty’s Fundraiser & More

Goodall Library has hundreds of new books for all ages ready to become your new favorites. Here is what the staff recommends this week:

  • We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker. This adult fiction novel is an absolute page-turner and an instant classic. Perfect for fans of Louise Penny, it is a realistic story about a sheriff who betrayed his friend, a teenager trying to keep her family together, and the extraordinary things that happen to people who deserve more than what life gives them.
  • Friendship in the Age of Loneliness by Adam Smiley Poswolsky. Also known as “an optimist’s guide to connection,” this adult nonfiction guidebook is an inspiring way to help you rediscover how to be a good friend and build healthy relationships. It is particularly relevant for those who have become disconnected in real life because they are so connected through technology.
  • The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala. This young adult novel and its sequel, The Archer at Dawn, can be enjoyed by teens and adult readers alike. It is a mesmerizing fantasy novel about a girl who is secretly a deadly assassin, a soldier tasked to bring her down, and a desert kingdom whose secrets may just become unraveled if either character succeeds. 
  • The Couch Potato by Jory John and Pete Oswald. From the authors of The Cool Bean comes this new, hilarious picture book for children that parents will be glad to read as well. It tells the story of a potato who wants nothing more than to sit on his couch all day watching tv and playing video games, but learns that lazy life isn’t quite as awesome as it seems. 

Help the Goodall Library by going to the movies! Here’s how it works: Special fundraiser cards are available at the library now. Pick up as many as you’d like and share with friends. On Monday, June 21st, go to Smitty’s to see any movie between 4:00 and 7:00 p.m. When you pay for your ticket, show them your fundraiser card. Goodall Library will receive half of the profits of the ticket sales. Please don’t use any other discounts or it won’t count for the library. BONUS: Take a picture at the theater (not during the movie of course), post it on Instagram or Facebook and TAG #GoodallLibrary to be entered to win two free popcorn coupons for the next time you visit Smitty’s!

Got a dirty deck? The Springvale Library has a power washer you can check out just like a book!

There’s still time to sign up for the Springvale Library’s Game Night In on June 17, and their Mysteries by Maine Authors series, which begins June 24. Visit their website for more info and to register.

Copyright © 2024 - Sanford Springvale News - All rights reserved. | CoverNews by AF themes.